The CIA Knows me

This message just arrived recently and could easily scare the less computer savvy.  Almost every computer has visited a porn or piracy site over the past year.  If I didn't notice the domain was Bolivia instead of the USA, I might have been fooled too.  If you google that name, it really is the CIA chief.  Why he'd be emailing me personally, I'm not sure.

From: "Stephen Kappes" <StephenKappes@cia.com>
To: jeff@frogstar.com
Subject: CIA - Case ID: 328-84627 - WARNING

Hello,

Your IP address has been logged on more than 10 illegal websites. Some of these websites are used for child pornography distribution, software piracy (unauthorized software distribution) and illegal music download.
This does not necessary means that You personally browsed all of this illegal content.
Theres possibility someone else has access to your PC, physically or someone else gained remote access to your PC machine.
As a matter of that, we kindly ask You to answer all our questions regarding this case in reasonable amount of time.
List of all our questions is available for download at http://www.cia-gov.com.ba/?????.zip
If you do not answer these questions until 12.12.2008 we will start investigation and make final decision on our own. In that case, You'll get the charge in writing after we complete our investigation.
Please note that online browsing these kind of illegal content is serious violation of laws in many countries.
We expect your cooperation and prompt response.
Also note that this message is sent to your email address found in our database, as most relevant.
In case you want us to contact you on other email, please let us know.

Sincerely,
Stephen Kappes
Central Intelligence Agency -CIA-
935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW , Room 3220
Washington , DC 20535
Phone: (202) 324-30000

Case ID: 328-84627

Back to top